Mountain Dew (Japan) Review

Welcome back, everyone, to another Dew Review. I’ve had a whole bunch of these to do lately (or, Dew lately?), but this might be the last one for a little bit. I’m at the end of my current collection of exotic Mountain Dews to try. But don’t worry, I’m always on the lookout for new flavors and opportunities. Also, lately, I’ve realized just how much of a Dew nerd I’ve become when I was able to explain the different Dews in different parts of the world or all the different flavors I’ve tried here in the US in not one, but three unrelated conversations I’ve had with friends recently. It was weird.

Anyway, this review takes us to the Land of the Rising Sun, Japan. This actually isn’t the first time I’ve had a Japanese Dew. Almost a year ago, I had their Violet flavor. But that’s as may be. Today, it’s the version of regular Mountain Dew that you can supposedly just get right off the shelf. How does it differ from the Dew here in the US? Let’s find out. But first, we need to get to the pour.

Interesting. I’m not entirely sure the photo shows it, but as I was pouring, I was definitely thinking, “that color is a little different.” So, like I’ve been doing for all of these comparison posts, I’ve got my own, regular, US Original Recipe Mountain Dew here as well. Let’s see them side-by-side.

The photo doesn’t quite show it as much as I’d want. Though the difference is still rather subtle. I tried for a few angles with the light and none were really better. So, you might just have to take my word that the US version is definitely a bit greener in color. The Japanese kind is a bit more “dried hay yellow” while the US has that tinge of neon green that we have come to associate with Mountain Dew.

But do they taste the same? That’s the big question. They don’t 100% smell the same. Like with the color, it’s extremely subtle. But, let’s give these a sip.

You know… I do think these taste a bit different. Like with everything else, it’s subtle. But yeah, unlike yesterday’s Russian Mountain Dew, where I without-a-doubt think they taste the same, these… seem slightly different. And I’m trying to put my finger on what, exactly, makes it so. And after multiple back-and-forth sips, I think I’ve come to a decision: the American version feels and tastes just a bit more acidic. And not in the form of, “AH! Burning acid!” but maybe jut a touch less of the acidic “twang” from stuff like the citric acid that they put in there. Like with all the differences, it’s not a huge one, but I feel that if I was given these blind, I would be able to tell them apart.

Like with the Russian bottle, I can’t read anything on the can, so I can’t exactly go line-by-line in the ingredients and see differences. I’m sure I could run it through a translator but… like… I just woke up and only now am having caffeine, everyone. But yeah… interesting.

And see, this is what I was wondering about. I’ve mentioned before in these “Dews from Around the World” posts that I know that things here in the US will have regional differences and explained my thoughts on how Coca-Cola tastes different in different places. Friends who have been abroad have reinforced that they feel the same way about Coca-Cola as well. They’re never huge changes, but just small tweaks and refinements in the formulas that could simply come down to regional mixing centers not being all 100% calibrated with one-another. Whatever it is, intentional or not, it creates unique experiences in those locations that are hard to replicate elsewhere. And I just find those anomalies and differences neat.

Anyway, before I get too poetic about it all, I’m going to say that it’s been fun doing these and hope I can try more regional Dews in the future. I’m definitely going to be keeping my eye out for them. If you know of a regional Dew near you, drop me a line. I’d love to give it a try and give you a shout-out for the help.

If you’re in Japan, you can just walk down to your local 7-11 and grab one of these Dews for yourself. For me, here in the States, I got mine from Desert Drinks here: https://desert-drinks.com/products/mt-dew-japan

Leave a comment